New York Car Accident Home
Auto Accident/Injury Facts In New York
If you are seriously injured by a negligent driver who has only minimal insurance on his vehicle, what are your rights?
You and your family are in your car and are hit by a driver who ran a red light. Each of you suffers serious injuries. The minimum liability insurance required on registered vehicles in New York State is $25,000 for any one person injured up to a limit of $50,000 for all person injured.
This ordinarily would be the maximum amount that you could recover from the other driver for your family's pain and suffering.
Keith Kleinick can offer you more information about structured settlements if you are currently receiving compensation after being injured in a car accident.
However, New York motorists can protect themselves well beyond this minimum amount.
Automobile insurance companies are obligated to offer a minimum of $250,000 or more of additional coverage (commonly called SUM coverage) which protects you and family members living with you from under insured motorists.
If you are seriously injured in an accident and the negligent motorist has the minimum $25,000/$50,000 insurance, you can be compensated beyond that pain and suffering up to the limit of your own SUM coverage.
Kleinick Law urges everyone to purchase as much SUM coverage as possible.
If you or someone you know has sustained injuries after a car accident, contact a New York City Auto Accident Attorney at Kleinick Law and fill out a free case evaluation form today! Your initial consultation is FREE! "If we don't win, you don't pay!"